Match Details: Yeovil Town v Portsmouth
Match Details: Yeovil Town v Portsmouth

Match Details: 30/08/2016
Yeovil Town 4-3 Portsmouth
Checkatrade Trophy Group Stage

Yeovil Goals: Bevis Mugabi (14), Tom Eaves (22), Izale McLeod (27), Tom Eaves (39)

Yeovil Line-Up: 2. Liam Shephard, 3. Nathan Smith, 4. Matthew Dolan, 5. Bevis Mugabi, 8. Alex Lawless, 9. Tom Eaves, 10. Otis Khan, 12. Jonny Maddison, 16. Matt Butcher, 18. Izale McLeod, 28. Ben Whitfield
Subs: 1. Artur Krysiak, 15. Kyle Copp, 17. Omar Sowunmi, 20. Joe Lea, 22. Ollie Bassett,

Substitutes Used: Joe Lea for Ben Whitfield (74 mins), Kyle Copp for Otis Khan (88 mins)

Bookings: Liam Shephard (Foul, 45), Otis Khan (Foul, 60)

Match Report:

Yeovil Town won their first Group game in the relaunched EFL Trophy competition tonight, as a goal-heavy game at Huish Park saw them beat Portsmouth by a 4-3 scoreline. Six of the seven goals came during the first half. After Pompey had taken the lead, Bevis Mugabi deflected home a Matt Dolan free kick. That was followed by Tom Eaves bagging two goals, whilst Izale McLeod got his first for the club. Michael Smith had already scored twice during that first half, and he bagged his hat-trick ten minutes into the second period for what proved to be the final goal of the game. Reading's B-Team won their match against Bristol Rovers by a 3-2 scoreline, giving Yeovil primary position in the group on goals scored.

The Glovers went into the match making three changes to the line-up that featured against Doncaster Rovers on the weekend. Jonny Maddison made his debut between the sticks as Artur Krysiak was rested, whilst the international call-up for Ryan Hedges meant that there was a space for Izale McLeod to make his first start for the club, playing as the central of the three strikers with Tom Eaves taking a wide role. The other change saw Ben Whitfield get his first start for the club, as Kevin Dawson sat the night out, meaning that there were only give players named on the bench. The Pompey line-up was particularly changed - an entire eleven were swapped out from their weekend fixture, meaning that a 'Reserve XI' took to the field, with their back four made up of three midfielders and a full-back, supplimented with only four substitutes, one of whom was a 17 year old youth team keeper.

Despite Yeovil having the best of the early chances, with Izale McLeod having a shot deflected into the side netting, whilst Matt Dolan shot wide, it was the visitors who took the lead. Their goal came through two of their more experienced players with Kal Naismith's cross being headed home with power and ease by Michael Smith for a 1-0 10th minute lead.

If that might have caused concerns that maybe Pompey's second choice eleven were a little stronger than originally thought, Yeovil's response was a good one. Matt Dolan lined up a shot from distance, and the ball flicked off Bevis Mugabi with the turn on the ball enough to deceive Liam O'Brien. The Glovers then took the lead when Alex Lawless produced a neat ball over the top of the Pompey defence, that was placed well enough to wrong-foot the Portsmouth back line, and Tom Eaves nipped in behind them to control the ball and fire home from 15 yards out to put Yeovil 2-1 up.

Yeovil extended their lead further with only 27 minutes on the clock when Izale McLeod scored a well-worked goal. Running at the Portsmouth defence, he laid the ball off to Otis Khan, who turned and passed it back into McLeod's path, allowing the striker room to fire the ball past Liam O'Brien for a 3-1 lead. But the goals kept flowing, and Pompey hit back again, with Michael Smith the man that Yeovil couldn't handle once more. Again, Kal Naismith was the provider, feeding the striker inside the box, and he managed to turn and out-muscle Nathan Smith, firing low past Jonny Maddison.

Two minutes later, the goal feast continued. Again Alex Lawless was the goal creator, as he put the ball out to Tom Eaves in a wide position. Eaves ran with the ball, the Portsmouth defence backed off, inviting him to shoot, and he did just that - firing a shot from the edge of the box for a 4-2 lead. There weren't even 40 minutes on the clock at that stage!

Perhaps invitably, the second half proved to be a bit more of a sedate affair. Ten minutes into the half, Portsmouth grabbed a goal back to make things interesting, with Michael Smith getting his claim for possession of the match ball. Adam May's cross into the box saw the Portsmouth striker head the ball back across the goal and into the opposite corner, for what was a bit of a 'training ground' effort. 4-3 and now the match was going to be tight. Smith could have had a fourth, just before he was substituted, with Pompey having the advantage of bringing on players like Conor Chaplin and Noel Hunt, despite this being the 'second XI'.

The away side had appeals for a leveller turned down when Amine Linganzi thought he'd scrambled the ball over the line, with keeper Jonny Maddison diving low to smother the ball. Neither referee nor linesman seemed impressed by Pompey appeals, and that turned out to be their best chance during the closing stages, with a Gareth Evans effort that went over the bar representing their other main effort. Yeovil go top of the Southern Section Group A, with away matches against Bristol Rovers and Reading B to come - the latter won their match at the Memorial Stadium by a 3-2 scoreline, and so stand as the other victors on the night.

Final Score: Yeovil Town 4 Portsmouth 3.

Scorers: Michael Smith (0-1, 10 mins), Bevis Mugabi (1-1, 14 mins), Tom Eaves (2-1, 22 mins), Izale McLeod (3-1, 27 mins), Michael Smith (3-2, 37 mins), Tom Eaves (4-2, 39 mins), Michael Smith (4-3, 54 mins)

Yeovil Town:
12. Jonny Maddison
2. Liam Shephard 5. Bevis Mugabi, 16. Matt Butcher, 3. Nathan Smith
28. Ben Whitfield, 8. Alex Lawless, 4. Matt Dolan,
10. Otis Khan, 18. Izale McLeod, 9. Tom Eaves.

1. Artur Krysiak 15. Kyle Copp (88 mins for Otis Khan) 17. Omar Sowunmi 20. Joe Lea (74 mins for Ben Whitfield) 22. Ollie Bassett.

13. Liam O'Brien 33. Ben Close 15. Adam Barton 5. Matthew Clarke 22. Kal Naismith 30. Adam May 23. Kyle Bennett 24. Amine Linganzi 18. Ben Tollitt 9. Michael Smith 26. Gareth Evans

2. Tom Davies (60 mins for Matthew Clarke) 19. Conor Chaplin (55 mins for Ben Tollitt) 20. Noel Hunt (72 mins for Michael Smith) 34. Nick Hall

Yeovil Bookings: Liam Shephard (foul, 45 mins), Otis Khan (foul, 60 mins)

Portsmouth Bookings: Adam Barton (foul, 3 mins), Ben Close (foul, 62 mins)

Yeovil Match Statistics: Possession: 46%; Shots: 11; Shots On Target: 8; Corners: 3; Fouls: 10.

Portsmouth Match Statistics: Possession: 54%; Shots: 12; Shots On Target: 5; Corners: 8; Fouls: 9.

Referee: Kevin Johnson (Somerset). Assistants: Robert Dabbs (Dorset) and John Law (Worcestershire). Fourth Official: Adam Bromley (Devon).

Attendance: 1,534 (with 270 Portsmouth supporters).
© Ciderspace 2003-2012
Last Updated : 12th August 2007
design by siteshape