Match Details: Ebbsfleet United v Yeovil Town
Match Details: Ebbsfleet United v Yeovil Town

Match Details: 13/08/2019
Ebbsfleet United 1-3 Yeovil Town
National League

Yeovil Goals: Rhys Murphy (27), Remeao Hutton (47), Tom Whelan (81)

Yeovil Line-Up: 1. Stuart Nelson, 2. Craig Alcock, 4. Lee Collins, 7. Matt Worthington, 8. Lawson D'Ath, 9. Rhys Murphy, 11. Myles Hippolyte, 14. Courtney Duffus, 18. Albi Skendi, 19. Tom Bradbury, 23. Tom Whelan,
Subs: 3. Carl Dickinson, 12. Marcin Brzozowski, 15. Ryan Seager, 24. Remeao Hutton, 26. Charlie Lee

Substitutes Used: Remeao Hutton for Rhys Murphy (30 mins), Carl Dickinson for Lee Collins (46 mins), Charlie Lee for Lawson D'Ath (77 mins)

Bookings: Myles Hippolyte (Ungentlemanly Conduct, 49)

Match Report:

Yeovil Town gained their first away victory for seven months on Tuesday night after they beat Ebbsfleet United 3-1 at Stonebridge Road. Their first on the road victory since January 12th was secured thanks to three different scorers, with Rhys Murphy turning in a Tom Bradbury strike during the first half to set the tone of the game. Birmingham City loanee Remeao Hutton cut in from the flank to double the lead two minutes after the break, and although Ebbsfleet got some joy via an Aswad Thomas header in the closing stages, midfielder Tom Whelan put it out of sight three minutes later with his first goal for the club, leaving Yeovil in 7th place in the ultra-early National League table.

The Glovers went into the match making one change to their starting line-up. Myles Hippolyte was back from his concussion problems and he replaced Remeao Hutton in the left wing-back slot to start the game. On the bench there was rather more change, with two new signings in Marcin Brzozowski and Charlie Lee, and the return of Carl Dickinson, which meant that Darren Sarll could afford to leave all four of the Academy graduates off the teamsheet along with loanee Olly McCoy.

The opening 30 minutes saw both sides create plenty of chances, with the home side probably having the greater quantity. Rhys Murphy hit the opening effort straight into the keeper's arms, whilst Courtney Duffus saw his first attempt come off a defender for a corner, before a second effort from the striker went a yard or so wide.

Ebbsfleet's main danger seemed to come from John Goddard in midfield, but he struck a free kick well over the bar as the home side began to get back into it. Miles Weston's 25 yard effort whistled past Stuart Nelson's post, and then a bit of brave defending was needed as Lee Collins and Tom Bradbury had to block shots, with Collins heading over his own crossbar to stop former Glover Gozie Ugwu stealing in for a goal. Nelson was fairly fortunate with a Josh Umerah shot that he spooned instead of catching, but managed to do enough to get it over his own crossbar.

Just short of the half hour mark though, the tone of the game changed with the opening goal. Tom Bradbury drove a shot at goal through a crowded penalty area and Rhys Murphy got a touch on the ball to divert it past home keeper Nathan Ashmore for a 0-1 lead. Unfortunately for Murphy that was his final contribution of the game, with him going down injured a couple of minutes later with a leg problem, that saw him immediately replaced by Remeao Hutton, as Myles Hippolyte went up front.

With Ebbsfleet having lost all of their matches so far, that goal clearly dented their confidence, and it wasn't until the final couple of minutes before the break that they perked up again. Before that, Lawson D'Ath's ambitious effort from the halfway line worried Nathan Ashmore who was standing in a very advanced position - the goalkeeper managed to backpedal quick enough to stop any danger of embarrassment on his behalf. At the other end, two efforts from John Goddard restored Ebbsfleet's spark a little, but they went in a goal down at the break.

At half time, Carl Dickinson appeared as a replacement for Lee Collins, also taking the captain's armband in the process, suggesting that Collins had become the second player to pick up a knock. But there wss no stopping Yeovil Town as two minutes into the half they doubled their lead. Birmingham City loanee Remeao Hutton may be playing on the left flank, but he showed Ebbsfleet he is most certainly classy on his right foot as he cut inside from the wide position before firing off an excellent shot that was buried into the net for a 0-2 lead.

Now with a cushion, Yeovil looked comfortable for long stretches of the second half, with Ebbsfleet having to resort to fouls to slow down the running from the visitors. The only worry up until the closing stages was when John Goddard went down inside the box under a shove, but thankfully referee Carl Brook wasn't interested. It was only in the final 20 minutes that Ebbsfleet looked like they might get back into the match, enjoying a 10 minute spell where they got territory and possession. They were rewarded with 12 minutes remaining as Aswad Thomas headed home John Goddard's free kick, and suddenly the worry was that this might turn out to be 'game on' at 1-2.

But Ebbsfleet's brief rally didn't last that long. Only three minutes later, a good flowing move by the Glovers saw Courtney Duffus set up Myles Hippolyte, who put the ball nicely into the path of midfielder Tom Whelan. The former Salisbury player fired home with nine minutes remaining to restore a two goal advantage at 1-3 and ensure that there was no route back for Ebbsfleet.

Despite referee Carl Brook somehow conjuring up six minutes of injury time at the end, with the exception of a Brandon Thomas-Assante header that flashed wide, Ebbsfleet were already beaten, and that allowed a stress-free ending to the match, and a relatively comfortable win against the National League's bottom club, that lifts Yeovil up into seventh place - a decent start for the 2019-20 season given the level of transition in the club, and perhaps a stable base to build on during the next few weeks.

Link: 2019-20 Latest National League Table.

Final Score: Ebbsfleet United 1 Yeovil Town 3.

Scorers: Rhys Murphy (0-1, 27 mins), Remeao Hutton (0-2, 47 mins), Aswad Thomas (1-2, 78 mins), Tom Whelan (1-3, 81 mins)

Ebbsfleet United:
1 Nathan Ashmore 3 Aswad Thomas 5 Ayo Obileye 15 Jamie Grimes 11 Myles Weston 2 Jack King 10 John Goddard 8 Jimmy Ball 6 Lawrie Wilson 9 Gozie Ugwu 12 Josh Umerah

7 Sean Shields (55 mins for Lawrie Wilson) 13 Harry Palmer 18 Alfie Egan 19 Brandon Thomas-Asante (70 mins for Josh Umerah) 20 Bondz N'Gala

Yeovil Town: (3-4-1-2)
1. Stuart Nelson,
4. Lee Collins (Capt), 18. Albi Skendi, 19. Tom Bradbury,
2. Craig Alcock, 7. Matt Worthington, 23. Tom Whelan, 11. Myles Hippolyte
8. Lawson D'Ath
9. Rhys Murphy, 14. Courtney Duffus

12. Marcin Brzozowski 3. Carl Dickinson (46 mins for Lee Collins) 15. Ryan Seager 24. Remeao Hutton (30 mins for Rhys Murphy) 26. Charlie Lee (77 mins for Lawson D'Ath)

Ebbsfleet United Bookings: Jack King (foul, 57 mins), Aswad Thomas (foul, 64 mins), Josh Umerah (foul, 68 mins)

Yeovil Bookings: Myles Hippolyte (delaying restart, 49 mins)

Ebbsfleet United Statistics: Possession: 59%; Shots On Target: 2; Shots Off Target: 10; Corners: 6.

Yeovil Statistics: Possession: 41%; Shots On Target: 5; Shots Off Target: 5; Corners: 1.

Referee: Carl Brook (East Sussex). Assistants: Ryan Head (Norfolk) and Martyn Holmes (Norfolk). Fourth Official: Ian Fissenden (Kent).

Attendance: 1,057 (with approx 150 Yeovil Town supporters)
© Ciderspace 2003-2012
Last Updated : 12th August 2007
design by siteshape