Match Details: Fleetwood Town v Yeovil Town
Match Details: Fleetwood Town v Yeovil Town

Match Details: 06/04/2015
Fleetwood Town 4-0 Yeovil Town
Skybet League One

Yeovil Goals:

Yeovil Line-Up: 9. James Hayter, 11. Sam Foley, 12. Artur Krysiak, 15. Seth Nana Omuri-Twumasi, 17. Joel Grant, 25. Gozie Ugwu, 26. Stephen Arthurworrey, 27. Byron Webster, 30. Josh Sheehan, 32. Liam Shephard, 35. Stephen Kingsley
Subs: 3. Nathan Smith, 5. Fergus Bell, 8. James Berrett, 10. AJ Leitch-Smith, 13. Kieffer Moore, 22. Gareth Stewart, 24. Craig Eastmond,

Substitutes Used: James Berrett for Josh Sheehan (59 mins), AJ Leitch-Smith for Liam Shephard (78 mins), Nathan Smith for Stephen Kingsley (86 mins)

Bookings: Sam Foley (Foul, 61)

Match Report:

Yeovil Town's League One status is left hanging by a thread tonight, after they suffered their worst defeat of the 2014-15 season. Woeful first half defending cost them the game, as three errors allowed Fleetwood Town a chance to establish a three goal half time lead, as David Ball's simple six yard tap-in was followed up by a low shot into the corner from the same player after he accepted Nick Haughton's sliderule pass. Ball then turned provider as Jamie Proctor was given far too much room inside the box to accept a short pass to put the Glovers three down at the break. A better second half saw the Glovers rally a touch, but in pushing up numbers, they allowed Fleetwood to get their fourth in the closing stages as Ashley Hunter slotted home a Proctor pull-back. Now 11 points from the 23rd placed club, and 13 points from safety, the Glovers fate will be sealed if they lose to relegation rivals Notts County next weekend.

Team news saw just one change made to Yeovil's line-up from Good Friday's defeat against Chesterfield, with Joel Grant being brought back into the side, ahead of AJ Leitch-Smith, who sat on the bench. Nathan Smith was the other change, as he displaced Nathan Ralph as a substitute.

The first 30 seconds saw Yeovil have two blocked shots and a third that went out for a goal kick, but that was as good as it got before a torrid first half began to develop. Nick Haughton's seventh minute cross was met by a low header across the face of goal by Nathan Pond, and Yeovil's defence were nowhere to be seen as David Ball got a chance to convert from six yards out, and no-one marking him anywhere. 1-0 down and slack defending.

Matters got far worse when Nick Haughton helped Fleetwood create their second goal with just 16 minutes gone, and it was so simple to execute. His pass dissected the Glovers defence, and found David Ball in acres of space, and he drilled a low shot past Artur Krysiak for a 2-0 lead. It wasn't as if Fleetwood had at any time put the Glovers defence under extreme pressure - just that on both goals, the defence had pretty much waved the home side through unattended.

Yeovil's beleagured defence were at fault yet again when David Ball turned provider just past the half hour mark - his receipt of the ball just inside the box allowed him to set up Jamie Proctor for a smart finish, and to put the Glovers 3-0 down. At this point, it was hard to imagine what the scoreline at the Highbury Stadium could have ended up as, with the home side having scored with more or less their first three attempts on goal.

The Glovers managed to somehow keep themselves alive until half time without conceding further, and in the second period they managed to make a fair stab of trying to get back into the match, albeit with Fleetwood able to stick eight or nine players behind the ball and to smother out most attacks. Sam Foley hit one over the bar, whilst Gozie Ugwu got underneath a cross into the box which meant that he couldn't direct his header properly. James Berrett rifled a shot over the bar after he had been set up by Joel Grant's pull back, as Yeovil struggled to force Chris Maxwell into a save.

As Yeovil pushed up numbers though, it seemed inevitable that Fleetwood would get a sniff on the break. Seven minutes before the end, Antoni Sarcevic set Jamie Proctor up down the flank and as Artur Krysiak committed himself to his near post, the pullback allowed Ashley Hunter a chance to easily sweep the ball into the back of the net from the edge of the box. 4-0 and the end of any attempt Yeovil might have had of making a game of it, with their first half defensive horror show to blame for that. Now marooned, even eleven points from 23rd place Colchester, their fate will surely be sealed soon - it could be as early as next weekend.

Link: 2014-15 Latest League One Table.

Final Score: Fleetwood Town 4 Yeovil Town 0.

Scorers: David Ball (7 mins, 1-0), David Ball (16 mins, 2-0), Jamie Proctor (32 mins, 3-0), Ashley Hunter (83 mins, 4-0).

Yeovil Town:
12. Artur Krysiak
15. Seth Nana Twumasi 27. Byron Webster 26. Stephen Arthurworrey 35. Stephen Kingsley
32. Liam Shephard 11. Sam Foley 30. Josh Sheehan 17. Joel Grant
25. Gozie Ugwu 9. James Hayter

22. Gareth Stewart 3. Nathan Smith (86 mins for Stephen Kingsley) 5. Fergus Bell 8. James Berrett (59 mins for Josh Sheehan) 10. AJ Leitch-Smith (78 mins for Liam Shephard) 13. Kieffer Moore 24. Craig Eastmond

Fleetwood Town:
28. Chris Maxwell
20. Tyler Hornby-Forbes 15. Adam Chicksen 6. Nathan Pond 25. Stephen Jordan
8. Steven Schumacher 18. Antoni Sarcevic 12. Josh Morris 27. Nicholas Haughton
23. David Ball 19. Jamie Proctor

4. Stewart Murdoch 5. Mark Roberts 7. Gareth Evans (78 mins for David Ball) 9. Stephen Dobbie 21. Brendan Moore 29. Liam McAlinden (89 mins for Antoni Sarcevic) 30. Ashley Hunter

Fleetwood Bookings: David Ball (68 mins, foul)

Yeovil Bookings: Sam Foley (61 mins, foul)

Fleetwood Match Statistics: Possession: 47%; Shots: 8; Shots On Target: 5; Corners: 1; Fouls: 11.

Yeovil Match Statistics: Possession: 53%; Shots: 14; Shots On Target: 4; Corners: 8; Fouls: 16.

Referee: Christopher Kavanagh (Manchester). Assistant Referees: Darren Strain (Cheshire) and Jason Whiteley (West Yorkshire). Fourth Official: Kevin Mattocks (Lancashire).

Attendance: 3,086 (with 152 Yeovil supporters).
© Ciderspace 2003-2012
Last Updated : 12th August 2007
design by siteshape