Match Details: Yeovil Town v Birmingham City
Match Details: Yeovil Town v Birmingham City

Match Details: 27/08/2013
Yeovil Town 3-3 Birmingham City
Carling Cup Second Round

Yeovil Goals: Ed Upson (22), Byron Webster (90), Luke Ayling (105)

Yeovil Line-Up: 2. Luke Ayling, 3. Jamie McAllister, 4. Joe Edwards, 4. Byron Webster, 6. Dan Seaborne, 8. Ed Upson, 9. James Hayter, 13. Kieffer Moore, 21. Liam Davis, 23. Joel Grant, 27. Wayne Hennessey
Subs: 7. Kevin Dawson, 10. Sam Foley, 11. Michael Ngoo, 14. Sam Hoskins, 18. Alan Tate, 19. Joe Ralls, 24. Chris Dunn,

Substitutes Used: Sam Hoskins for Liam Davis (66 mins), Kevin Dawson for James Hayter (80 mins), Alan Tate for Kieffer Moore (80 mins)

Bookings: Jamie McAllister (Foul, 72), Byron Webster (Ungentlemanly Conduct, 90), Dan Seaborne (Foul, 95)

Match Report:

Yeovil Town went out of the Football League Cup on penalties after one of the most extraordinary nights of football Huish Park will have witnessed. In a match that saw Birmingham City twice take the lead, as Kyle Bartley headed home a corner, and Andrew Shinnie drilled home a shot just inside the box, a superb Ed Upson free kick in between kept the Glovers in the game.

All of that was surpassed though by the drama that unfolded during injury time when Byron Webster scored, leaving Birmingham's players furious that the Glovers hadn't given the ball back to them, after they'd kicked the ball out for Dan Burn to receive treatment. But that took the game into injury time, allowing Luke Ayling his moment of glory - a 20 yard strike for his first goal in 145 appearances. But the match went from the sublime to the ridiculous, as Lee Novak was allowed a walk-in goal to eventually compensate for Webster's controversial goal, meaning that the game went to penalties. Birmingham took advantage of Sam Hoskins, Ed Upson and Jamie McAllister all missing their kicks, with Tom Adeyemi scoring the one that put them into the Third Round of the League Cup.

Final Score: Yeovil Town 3 Birmingham City 3. (Score 2-2 after 90 minutes. Birmingham win 3-2 on penalties).

Scorers: Kyle Bartley (0-1, 20 mins), Ed Upson (1-1, 22 mins), Andrew Shinnie (1-2, 44 mins), Byron Webster (2-2, 90 mins), Luke Ayling (3-2, 105 mins), Lee Novak (3-3, 106 mins)

Penalty Kicks: Sam Hoskins (Hit Post, 0-0), Chris Burke (Scored, 0-1), Dan Seaborne (Scored, 1-1), Neal Eardley (Missed, 1-1), Ed Upson (Saved, 1-1) Scott Allan (Saved, 1-1), Jamie McAllister (Missed, 1-1), Darren Ambrose (Scored, 1-2), Kevin Dawson (Scored, 2-2), Tom Adeyemi (Scored, 2-3).

Yeovil Town (4-4-2):
27. Wayne Hennessy
2. Luke Ayling 4. Byron Webster (Capt) 6. Dan Seabourne 3. Jamie McAllister
23. Joel Grant 8. Ed Upson 4. Joe Edwards 21. Liam Davis
13. Kieffer Moore 9. James Hayter

24. Chris Dunn, 10. Sam Foley, 11. Michael Ngoo, 18. Alan Tate (80 mins for Kieffer Moore), 7. Kevin Dawson (80 mins for James Hayter), 19. Joe Ralls, 14. Sam Hoskins (66 mins for Liam Davis)

Birmingham City:
13. Colin Doyle
2. Neal Eardley, 5. Kyle Bartley, 6. Dan Burn, 4. Paul Robinson (Capt)
7. Chris Burke, 24. Tom Adeyemi, 23. Jonathan Spector, 22. Andrew Shinnie
12. Lee Novak, 25. Matt Green.

30. Nick Townsend, 8. Hayden Mullins, 10. Darren Ambrose (87 mins for Andrew Shinnie), 15. Wade Elliott, 17. Callum Reilly, 20. Oliver Lee, 26. Scott Allan (77 mins for Matt Green)

Yeovil Bookings: Jamie McAllister (foul, 72 mins), Byron Webster (ungentlemanly conduct, 90 mins), Dan Seaborne (foul)

Birmingham Bookings: Jonathan Spector (foul, 67 mins), Paul Robinson (ungentlemanly conduct, 90 mins), Tom Adeyemi (ungentlemanly conduct, 90 mins), Darren Ambrose (foul, 98 mins).

Yeovil Match Statistics: Possession: 49%; Shots: 11; Shots On Target: 7; Corners: 10; Fouls: 14.

Birmingham Match Statistics: Possession: 51%; Shots: 15; Shots On Target: 7; Corners: 9; Fouls: 14.

Referee: Darren Sheldrake (Surrey). Assistants: William Bull (Hampshire) and Colin Lymer (Hampshire). Fourth Official: Andrew Bennett (Devon).

Attendance: 3,767 (including 717 Birmingham supporters).
© Ciderspace 2003-2012
Last Updated : 12th August 2007
design by siteshape