Match Details: Yeovil Town v Charlton Athletic
Match Details: Yeovil Town v Charlton Athletic

Match Details: 07/12/2013
Yeovil Town 2-2 Charlton Athletic
Football League Championship

Yeovil Goals: Own Goal (72), Ishmael Miller (76)

Yeovil Line-Up: 2. Luke Ayling, 4. Joe Edwards, 5. Byron Webster, 8. Ed Upson, 15. Shane Duffy, 21. Liam Davis, 23. Joel Grant, 24. Chris Dunn, 27. Ishmael Miller, 29. Adam Morgan, 31. John Lundstram
Subs: 3. Jamie McAllister, 7. Kevin Dawson, 9. James Hayter, 10. Sam Foley, 12. Gareth Stewart, 14. Sam Hoskins, 19. Joe Ralls,

Substitutes Used: James Hayter for Adam Morgan (46 mins), Kevin Dawson for John Lundstram (46 mins), Jamie McAllister for Liam Davis (58 mins)

Bookings: Shane Duffy (Foul, 6), Byron Webster (Foul, 60), Kevin Dawson (Foul, 69)

Match Report:

Yeovil Town came back from two goals down in a topsy-turvy contest against Charlton Athletic at Huish Park this afternoon. The 2-2 draw against the Addicks looked rather improbable just before the 72 minute mark, with the away side having gained a comfortable half time lead, thanks to former Glovers loanee Cameron Stewart. He cut inside from the left wing to put Charlton 1-0 up eight minutes before the break, then provided the cross for the back post header that Johnnie Jackson converted right on half time.

A double substitution, followed by an injury to Liam Davis meant that Yeovil used all three substitutes early in the second period, and they got themselves a lifeline with 18 minutes remaining, as a Joel Grant cross deflected off Charlton defender Michael Morrison and into the back of the net. Grant was then fouled inside the box by Dorian Dervite four minutes later, allowing Ishmael Miller the chance to score his second Glovers goal, from the penalty spot.

The game then took another twist as Johnnie Jackson's studs-up challenge on Luke Ayling saw Charlton playing out the remaining 14 minutes with ten men, giving Yeovil chances to get the winning goal. But in a game in which Charlton had looked very comfortable for two-thirds of it, a point was probably a fairer result, leaving both sides still on opposite sides of the relegation line, with a two point gap separating Yeovil from safety. After seven points out of a possible nine this week though, the week has ended better than it had been at the start of last weekend.

Final Score: Yeovil Town 2 Charlton Athletic 2.

Scorers: Cameron Stewart (0-1, 37 mins), Johnnie Jackson (0-2, 45 mins), Michael Morrison (1-2, 72 mins, own goal), Ishmael Miller (2-2, 76 mins, pen)

Yeovil Town (4-4-2):
24. Chris Dunn
2. Luke Ayling 15. Shane Duffy 5. Byron Webster (Captain) 21. Liam Davis
4. Joe Edwards 8. Ed Upson 31. John Lundstram 23. Joel Grant
27. Ishmael Miller 29. Adam Morgan

12. Gareth Stewart, 3. Jamie McAllister (58 mins for Liam Davis) 7. Kevin Dawson (46 mins for John Lundstram) 9. James Hayter (46 mins for Adam Morgan) 10. Sam Foley 14. Sam Hoskins 19. Joe Ralls

Charlton Athletic:
12 Ben Alnwick 4. Johnnie Jackson (Capt) 5. Michael Morrison 6. Dorian Dervite 8. Dale Stephens 9. Simon Church 16. Rhoys Wiggins 18. Yann Kermogant 23. Lawrie Wilson 24. Jordan Cousins 32. Cameron Stewart

30. Nick Pope 2. Andy Hughes (69 mins for Jordan Cousins) 3. Cedric Evina 7. Danny Green 10. Marvin Sordell 15. Richard Wood (90 mins for Cameron Stewart) 20. Chris Solly (82 mins for Simon Church)

Yeovil Bookings: Shane Duffy (foul, 6 mins), Byron Webster (foul, 60 mins), Kevin Dawson (foul, 69 mins).

Charlton Bookings: Lawrie Wilson (foul, 17 mins) Yann Kermogant (71 mins, foul), Ben Alnwick (dissent, 75 mins). Red Card: Johnnie Jackson (serious foul play, 78 mins).

Yeovil Match Statistics: Possession: 51%; Shots: 13; Shots On Target: 5; Corners: 4; Fouls: 13.

Charlton Match Statistics: Possession: 49%; Shots: 9; Shots On Target: 4; Corners: 4; Fouls: 14.

Referee: Craig Pawson (South Yorkshire). Assistants: Marc Perry (West Midlands) and Scott Ledger (South Yorkshire). Fourth Official: Philip Gibbs (West Midlands).

Attendance: 6,053 (including 836 Charlton Athletic fans).
© Ciderspace 2003-2012
Last Updated : 12th August 2007
design by siteshape