Match Details: Yeovil Town v Blackpool
Match Details: Yeovil Town v Blackpool

Match Details: 03/12/2013
Yeovil Town 1-0 Blackpool
Football League Championship

Yeovil Goals: John Lundstram (21)

Yeovil Line-Up: 2. Luke Ayling, 4. Joe Edwards, 5. Byron Webster, 8. Ed Upson, 15. Shane Duffy, 21. Liam Davis, 23. Joel Grant, 24. Chris Dunn, 27. Ishmael Miller, 29. Adam Morgan, 31. John Lundstram
Subs: 3. Jamie McAllister, 7. Kevin Dawson, 9. James Hayter, 10. Sam Foley, 12. Gareth Stewart, 14. Sam Hoskins, 19. Joe Ralls,

Substitutes Used: Sam Hoskins for Adam Morgan (60 mins), Joe Ralls for Joel Grant (81 mins)

Bookings: Luke Ayling (Foul, 75), Ed Upson (Foul, 86), Sam Hoskins (Foul, 90)

Match Report:

Yeovil Town gained their first Championship back-to-back win tonight, as they defeated Blackpool by a single goal at Huish Park. The footballing side of the evening came thanks to Everton loanee John Lundstram, who took advantage of a Byron Webster knockdown inside the box from a set piece. In an end-to-end encounter, both sides had opportunities to score, but in the second half it was Ed Upson who went the closest, as he crashed a 30 yard effort off the crossbar, with the highly impressive Ishmael Miller unable to follow up the attempt due to a linesman's flag.

But the end of the game was all about Blackpool's lack of discipline. In a second half where they had become more petulant and frustrated, they let that boil over in the 90th minute, as they saw three players red-card in separate incidents. Blackpool had already been clocking up the yellow cards when Kirk Broadfoot picked up his marching orders for a late lunge on Sam Hoskins. Then Blackpool striker Ricardo Fuller was dismissed for an off the ball incident involving Luke Ayling.

Just when things couldn't get any sillier, Gary MacKenzie committed a rash challenge whilst the Glovers were holding the ball up, and after some lengthy thought about what he was going to have to do, referee Christopher Sarginson raised his red card for a third time. The seven minutes of injury time played saw the visitors shoot themselves in the foot, and allowed Yeovil to climb closer to the safety line - only two points separating them from 21st place after tonight's results.

Final Score: Yeovil Town 1 Blackpool 0.

Scorers: John Lundstram (1-0, 21 mins)

Yeovil Town (4-4-2):
24. Chris Dunn
2. Luke Ayling 15. Shane Duffy 5. Byron Webster (Captain) 21. Liam Davis
4. Joe Edwards 8. Ed Upson 31. John Lundstram 23. Joel Grant
27. Ishmael Miller 29. Adam Morgan

12. Gareth Stewart, 3. Jamie McAllister 7. Kevin Dawson 9. James Hayter 10. Sam Foley 14. Sam Hoskins (60 mins for Adam Morgan) 19. Joe Ralls (81 mins for Joel Grant)

1. Matthew Gilks 17. Chris Basham 6. Kirk Broadfoot 5. Gary MacKenzie 3. Jack Robinson 11. Tom Ince 4. Dan Gosling 15. Stephen Dobbie 18. Isaiah Osbourne 12. Neal Bishop 19. Ricardo Fuller

8. Michael Chopra (79 mins for Stephen Dobbie) 9. Steve Davies (72 mins for Neal Bishop) 10. Bobby Grant 13. Tony Warner 16. Barry Ferguson (67 mins for Isaiah Osbourne) 31. Angel 25. Tyler Blackett

Yeovil Bookings: Luke Ayling (foul, 75 mins), Ed Upson (foul, 86 mins), Sam Hoskins (foul, 90 mins)

Blackpool Bookings: Chris Basham (foul, 69 mins), Kirk Broadfoot (foul, 84 mins), Gary MacKenzie (foul, 86 mins). Red Card: Kirk Broadfoot (second bookable offence, 90 mins), Ricardo Fuller (violent conduct, 90 mins), Gary MacKenzie (second bookable offence, 90 mins).

Yeovil Match Statistics: Possession: 42%; Shots: 12; Shots On Target: 3; Corners: 3; Fouls: 11.

Blackpool Match Statistics: Possession: 58%; Shots: 21; Shots On Target: 6; Corners: 3; Fouls: 18.

Referee: Christopher Sarginson (Staffordshire). Assistants: Justin Amey (Dorset) and Richard Martin (Weston-super-Mare). Fourth Official: Simon Knapp (Bristol).

Attendance: 5,530 (including 462 Blackpool supporters).
© Ciderspace 2003-2012
Last Updated : 12th August 2007
design by siteshape