Match Details: Leyton Orient v Yeovil Town
Match Details: Leyton Orient v Yeovil Town

Match Details: 19/01/2010
Leyton Orient 2-0 Yeovil Town
Coca Cola League One

Yeovil Goals:

Yeovil Line-Up: 1. Alex McCarthy, 2. Craig Alcock, 3. Nathan Smith, 4. Stefan Stam, 5. Steven Caulker, 8. Keiran Murtagh, 13. Ryan Mason, 14. Dean Bowditch, 21. Jean-Paul Kamudimba Kalala, 25. Shaun MacDonald, 26. Jonathan Obika,
Subs: 10. Gavin Tomlin, 11. Andy Welsh, 16. Scott Murray, 17. Aidan Downes, 23. Danny Hutchins, 28. Nathan Smith, 33. Ben Roberts

Substitutes Used: Gavin Tomlin for Keiran Murtagh (58 mins), Scott Murray for Jonathan Obika (80 mins), Andy Welsh for Ryan Mason (80 mins)

Bookings: Jean-Paul Kamudimba Kalala (Dissent, 59), Nathan Jones (Foul, 62), Nathan Smith (Dissent, 78)

Match Report:

Yeovil Town started 2010 in disappointing style as they were comfortably beaten by Leyton Orient in East London tonight. Neither side was particularly on song during the game in a match littered by misplaced passes, but Orient grabbed all three points, thanks to a rather odd looking Tamika Mkandawire goal that appeared to come off both posts, whilst a Scott McGleish free header 11 minutes from time made it game over to lift Orient out of the relegation zone.

The Glovers made a couple of noticeable team selections for the game, with Nathan Jones returning as left-back for the first time in two months, whilst Keiran Murtagh got the nod in midfield in a formation that appeared to start as a diamond, but at some point during the first half appeared to flatten out into a 4-4-2 with Ryan Mason on the left and Murtagh out on the right.

Early action saw a Stefan Stam header from a Craig Alcock free kick suggest that the Glovers might be getting the better of their hosts, but as the half wore on, last ditch clearances from Alcock and Nathan Jones to stop Orient scoring showed the true balance of play.

In between the two clearances, Orient grabbed the lead with what was either a terribly soft goal, or one where a heavy deflection had deceived Alex McCarthy. The ball was fired into the box from the right flank, and somewhere along a series of ricochets, Tamika Mkandawire was deemed to be the last Orient player to get a boot on the ball, and the ball landed into the net off at least one goalpost. One for the video replay to work out exactly how it got into the net, as when seen 'live' the experience was more that of watching a pinball machine sink a ball.

Alcock's clearance from a Nicky Adams shot stopped the lead being doubled, and as the half closed off, Yeovil finally began to create some useful pressure, with Jonathan Obika's left-footed volley on the edge of the box, and a long range Shaun MacDonald attempt forcing home keeper Jamie Jones into a couple of saves.

If the first half was often a mess of lost passes, and moves that broke down between the two sides, then the second period saw a drop in that previous baseline. The Glovers couldn't get out of second gear, and there was not enough off the ball movement or enough willingness to run at the Orient defence. Far too often, Yeovil's approach play stopped at the 30 yard line, and was either met by a sideways pass, or a fairly hopeful cross into the box that rarely got beyond the near post defender. With the exception of Ryan Mason in the first period, and Shaun MacDonald, Yeovil never really looked like they were going to get any route back into the game.

Instead, Orient doubled their lead, albeit with a goal that Yeovil's players clearly weren't happy about. Goalkeeper Alex McCarthy was judged to have carried the ball over the touchline when trying to save a corner, as his body slid towards the advertising boards. The main stand linesman awarded the corner, and got a round of abuse from substitute Nathan Smith, who obviously saw it otherwise, and became one of the more unusual bookings of the season - yellow carded without even taking to the field for his protests.

If Smith's view of the decision was an accurate one, then Yeovil would have been left fuming 20 seconds later when Jason Demetriou's corner was headed home by Orient top scorer Scott McGleish. The goal may have been controversial, but that was no excuse for some dreadful marking in the box that gifted McGleish his penalty spot header.

That was it - game over. Yeovil hadn't looked likely to grab a goal at any time during the second period - the odd long-ranger was as good as it got. The chances of them netting two in 10 minutes were non-existent. What was disappointing about this result, was that you never sensed any great urgency to change the game, or any great drive to make something happen in the opposition penalty box. As such by the time Yeovil got into the second half, the game became all too predictable, and with errors a-plenty from both sides, it wasn't pleasant viewing.

Final Score: Leyton Orient 2 Yeovil Town 0.

Scorers: Tamika Mkandawire (14 mins, 1-0), Scott McGleish (79 mins, 2-0)

Leyton Orient:
12. Jamie Jones
2. Stephen Purches 5. Tamika Mkandawire 19. Matthew Briggs 13. Charlie Daniels
24. Nicky Adams 10. Sean Thornton 8. Adam Chambers 11. Jason Demetriou
9. Scott McGleish 14. Ryan Jarvis

1. Glenn Morris (GK) 6. Luke Ashworth 7. John Melligan 15. Jonathan Tehoue (75 mins for Ryan Jarvis) 16. Andrew Cave-Brown 20. Jimmy Smith (70 mins for Sean Thornton) 22. James Scowcroft

Yeovil Town: (4-1-2-1-2)
1. Alex McCarthy
2. Craig Alcock 4. Stefan Stam 5. Steven Caulker 3. Nathan Jones
21. JP Kalala
8. Keiran Murtagh 25. Shaun MacDonald
13. Ryan Mason
14. Dean Bowditch 26. Jonathan Obika

33. Ben Roberts (GK) 10. Gavin Tomlin (58 mins for Keiran Murtagh) 11. Andy Welsh (80 mins for Ryan Mason) 16. Scott Murray (80 mins for Jonathan Obika) 17. Aidan Downes 23. Danny Hutchins 28. Nathan Smith

Orient Bookings: Sean Thornton (31 mins, foul)
Yeovil Bookings: Jean-Paul Kalala (59 mins, dissent), Nathan Jones (62 mins, foul), Nathan Smith (78 mins, dissent)

Referee: Phil Gibbs (West Midlands). Assistants: Gary Evetts (Hertfordshire) and Rob Whitton (Essex). Fourth Official: Stephen Daly (Middlesex).

Attendance: 2,669 (including 184 Yeovil fans)
© Ciderspace 2003-2012
Last Updated : 12th August 2007
design by siteshape