Match Details: Brentford v Yeovil Town
Match Details: Brentford v Yeovil Town

Match Details: 24/04/2010
Brentford 1-1 Yeovil Town
Coca Cola League One

Yeovil Goals: Gavin Tomlin (3)

Yeovil Line-Up: 1. Alex McCarthy, 2. Craig Alcock, 5. Steven Caulker, 6. Terrell Forbes, 8. Keiran Murtagh, 10. Gavin Tomlin, 11. Andy Welsh, 14. Dean Bowditch, 20. Gavin Williams, 21. Jean-Paul Kamudimba Kalala, 28. Nathan Smith
Subs: 3. Nathan Jones, 4. Stefan Stam, 7. Arron Davies, 15. Richard Martin, 16. Scott Murray, 19. Luke Ayling, 23. Danny Hutchins,

Substitutes Used: Luke Ayling for Gavin Williams (42 mins), Arron Davies for Andy Welsh (62 mins)

Bookings: Craig Alcock (Foul, 51), Luke Ayling (Foul, 75)

Match Report:

Yeovil Town picked up another away point as they inch their way towards League One survival, in a 1-1 draw against mid-table Brentford. It was a scrappy game, punctuated by some fairly dreadful refereeing, which contributed to both goals scored on the day. A Gavin Tomlin penalty three minutes into the match was cancelled out by a Sam Saunders free kick with referee Graham Horwood at the centre of both incidents.

Team selection for Yeovil saw Shaun MacDonald drop entirely out of the squad, allowing Keiran Murtagh to slot into midfield. Both Gavin Tomlin and Dean Bowditch faced their former clubs, although Sam Williams remained absent and thus denied a chance to face the club he played for last season.

It was Gavin Tomlin who had the first chance to get one over the club that employed him during the 2006-07 season. Referee Horwood spotted a handball against Charlie MacDonald that certainly no-one in the Yeovil end seemed to notice. Up stepped Tomlin and sent Arsenal keeper Wojciech Szczesny the wrong way to give Yeovil the lead with just three minutes gone.

Brentford largely dominated the half, with Yeovil struggling to force any real creativity up front. However, in terms of their defensive back line, they looked solid, and the best Brentford could manage was a Lionel Ainsworth attempt that whistled inches past Alex McCarthy's far post.

The Glovers suffered a blow just before the break when Gavin Williams, who had struggled to create much during the first period, limped off, having hobbled about for a few minutes previously. Luke Ayling came on to replace him and with the Bees dominating territorially, the Glovers slotted the Arsenal defender into midfield as Yeovil readjusted into a 4-5-1 formation.

After the break, the game got even more scrappy, with games of head tennis being punctuated by Mr Horwood wanting to get in on the act. During the latter stages of the first period, the referee had penalised Craig Alcock for an immaculate sliding tackle, and he did the same with Luke Ayling, just 15 minutes from time, as he slid in on Charlie MacDonald just outside the box.

To be fair to Sam Saunders, the second he struck his 25 yard free kick, there was only one place it was going to go - straight past Alex McCarthy and just inside the right hand post for a brilliant equalising goal, even if it was a frustration that it had come from a fairly contentious decision.

The remaining part of the game was all about Yeovil retaining what they already had, although they did create the best chance to win the game - Keiran Murtagh's cross being met by a first time shot from Gavin Tomlin that Bees keeper Szczesny brilliantly saved at his near post.

With Tranmere drawing their match against Colchester, that strike was inches away from mathematically keeping Yeovil in League One, but they will have to go again another week to try and tie things up for another year. However, having reached 50 points now, it would need two Yeovil defeats and two Tranmere wins, plus a bagful of other results to go wrong - despite there being just two games left, as Nathan Jones said pre-match, there is no need for anxiety just yet.

Final Score: Brentford 1 Yeovil Town 1.

Scorers: Gavin Tomlin (3 mins, pen, 0-1), Sam Saunders (76 mins, 1-1).

53. Wojciech Szczesny 2. Kevin O'Connor 22. Karleigh Osborne 32. Leon Legge 16. Sam Wood 7. Sam Saunders 13. David Hunt 20. Toumani Diagouraga 17. Lionel Ainsworth 10. Charlie MacDonald 18. Ben Strevens

21. Nikki Bull (GK) 5. Mark Phillips (84 mins for Sam Saunders) 24. Lewis Ferrell 25. Fraser Franks 27. Ryan Blake (60 mins for Lionel Ainsworth)

Yeovil Town:
1. Alex McCarthy
2. Craig Alcock 5. Steven Caulker 6. Terrell Forbes 28. Nathan Smith
10. Gavin Tomlin 21. JP Kalala 8. Keiran Murtagh 11. Andy Welsh
20. Gavin Williams
14. Dean Bowditch

15. Richard Martin (GK) 3. Nathan Jones 4. Stefan Stam 7. Arron Davies (62 mins for Andy Welsh) 16. Scott Murray 19. Luke Ayling (42 mins for Gavin Williams) 23. Danny Hutchins

Brentford Bookings: None.
Yeovil Bookings: Craig Alcock (51 mins, foul), Luke Ayling (75 mins, foul)

Referee: Graham Horwood (Bedfordshire). Assistants: Richard Kendall (Bedfordshire) and Tim Robinson (West Sussex). Fourth Official: Oleksandr Saliy (Middlesex).

Attendance: 5,395 (including 431 Yeovil fans).
© Ciderspace 2003-2012
Last Updated : 12th August 2007
design by siteshape