Match Details: Hartlepool United v Yeovil Town
Match Details: Hartlepool United v Yeovil Town

Match Details: 19/12/2009
Hartlepool United 1-1 Yeovil Town
Coca Cola League One

Yeovil Goals: Sam Williams (33)

Yeovil Line-Up: 1. Alex McCarthy, 2. Craig Alcock, 4. Stefan Stam, 5. Steven Caulker, 9. Sam Williams, 10. Gavin Tomlin, 13. Ryan Mason, 14. Dean Bowditch, 21. Jean-Paul Kamudimba Kalala, 25. Shaun MacDonald, 28. Nathan Smith
Subs: 6. Terrell Forbes, 7. George O'Callaghan, 11. Andy Welsh, 15. Richard Martin, 16. Scott Murray, 23. Danny Hutchins, 26. Jonathan Obika,

Substitutes Used: Jonathan Obika for Gavin Tomlin (55 mins), Scott Murray for Ryan Mason (82 mins)

Bookings: Gavin Tomlin (Foul, 31), Craig Alcock (Foul, 55)

Match Report:

Yeovil Town gained their third successive draw in League One this afternoon and once again they found themselves pegged back after taking the lead, after Hartlepool United gained a 1-1 draw at Victoria Park. The Glovers took a first half lead when Sam Williams struck home a Gavin Tomlin chest down. But midway through the second period, Andy Monkhouse levelled the scores, and the home side had chances to grab all three points when Alex McCarthy was twice forced to save in goalmouth scrambles.

Both sides went into the match largely uncharged with Yeovil Town making the one and only starting line-up switch, as Stefan Stam came in for Terrell Forbes, with manager Terry Skiverton pointing out that the aerial dominance of Hartlepool's front duo needed some extra height to deal with. The game saw a relatively quiet start, with a shot wide of the target by Ritchie Humphreys and an Adam Boyd header that went over the bar for the home side.

The Glovers were doing relatively well to snuff out the Hartlepool attack, but scored with their first significant shot on target - a Craig Alcock ball into the box was chested down by Gavin Tomlin and Sam Williams was on hand to produce a sweet strike from the edge of the box and put the Glovers a goal to the good.

That put Yeovil's tails up, although without too much else being created, and there was little else happening from Hartlepool as an attacking outlet in a game of few chances, but certainly at half time, it was so far, so good.

The second period started off with more of the same, but Yeovil began to go off the boil a touch, when Gavin Tomlin was replaced by Jonathan Obika, and Dean Bowditch moved into midfield to retain the diamond shape. That change didn't really seem to work, with Hartlepool beginning to dominate midfield, and Bowditch becoming fairly anonymous. More acutely, Leon McSweeney and Antony Sweeney began to dominate Yeovil's left flank, doubling up to expose Nathan Smith, and with none of Yeovil's midfielders really giving the left-back enough support.

The equalising goal came from that route, with Adam Boyd slipping the ball through to Leon McSweeney, and past Smith, and as the ball went across the face of Yeovil's box, Alex McCarthy was stranded, and Andy Monkhouse slid in at the back post to level the scores, and based upon the preceding 15 minutes, probably a deserved equaliser.

The Glovers were twice indebted to Alex McCarthy during the second period, with the Reading keeper twice diving on loose balls inside his own penalty box, on occasions where Hartlepool threatened to grab the winner. He dived on the feet of Andy Monkhouse twice, with Hartlepool's goalscorer getting booked on one occasion for his over-enthusiasm in trying to get his boot in on a ball that McCarthy had already got to first. Then McCarthy brilliantly tipped away an Adam Boyd shot as Hartlepool forced the second half pressure, with only a rare second half Sam Williams shot and a Dean Bowditch curler when he was finally moved back up front again threatening a quiet second half for Scott Flinders.

As such, a point from such a long away trip was not to be sniffed at come the final whistle, with full time giving Yeovil their 10th draw in 22 league matches this season. The end result is that the Glovers slip to equal 16th place in the table (precisely level with Gillingham, though conversely extend the gap between them and the bottom four by a point. However, Yeovil are now without a win in six matches, and with just one win in nine games. There is little doubt that they need to start holding onto leads to stop further points being dropped over Christmas.

Final Score: Hartlepool United 1 Yeovil Town 1.

Scorers: Sam Williams (0-1, 33 mins), Andy Monkhouse (1-1, 67 mins)

Yeovil Town: (4-1-2-1-2)
1. Alex McCarthy
2. Craig Alcock 5. Steven Caulker 4. Stefan Stam 28. Nathan Smith
21. JP Kalala
25. Shaun MacDonald 13. Ryan Mason
10. Gavin Tomlin
14. Dean Bowditch 9. Sam Williams

6. Terrell Forbes 7. George O'Callaghan 11. Andy Welsh 16. Scott Murray (82 mins for Ryan Mason) 15. Richard Martin (GK) 23. Danny Hutchins 26. Jonathan Obika (55 mins for Gavin Tomlin)

1. Scott Flinders
15. Antony Sweeney 5. Sam Collins 4. Gary Liddle 29. Peter Hartley
7. Leon McSweeney 8. Ritchie Jones 3. Ritchie Humphreys 11. Andy Monkhouse
26. Armann Bjornsson 10. Adam Boyd

Substitutes: 21. Mark Cook (GK) 14. Jonny Rowell (78 mins for Leon McSweeney) 19. Jon-Andre Fredriksen 20. Alan Power 24. Billy Greulich 27. Julian Cherel 22. Matty Tymon

Hartlepool Bookings: Andy Monkhouse (58 mins, foul)
Yeovil Bookings: Gavin Tomlin (31 mins, foul), Craig Alcock (55 mins, foul)

Attendance: 2,778 (including 85 Yeovil fans).
© Ciderspace 2003-2012
Last Updated : 12th August 2007
design by siteshape