Ciderspace News Page : Squad Numbers Released
31 July 2009 : Squad Numbers Released
The club has this afternoon released the squad numbers for the coming season. One slight surprise is that this seems to be the vehicle of information that goalkeeper Richard Martin has been awarded some sort of contract, since he has been given the No. 15 shirt but the club had made no prior disclosure that he had been signed. Ben Roberts, whose main role is as goalkeeping coach, has been given No. 33, so one assumes he has been registered as a player for any emergencies that might occur during the season.

Terry Skiverton has relinquished the No. 4 shirt that he made his own for so many years, and it has been given to the new on-field captain Stefan Stam. Although only currently on a one month loan, Steven Caulker has been awarded a low numbered shirt, No. 5, which could be seen as a very strong indication that the club expects him to be here for either half or the whole season. The other Tottenham Hotspur loanee, Ryan Mason, gets the No. 13. Darren Way has the No. 12 shirt, the one some clubs give to the fans. If this choice of number does have an element of a symbolic gesture it is surely one all Yeovil Town supporters will applaud.

Given recent statements in the press, though there has been no actual confirmation through the club's Official Site, the fact that Gary Roberts has not been given a squad number comes as no surprise.

The full list to date is:

1. Alex McCarthy; 2. Craig Alcock; 3. Nathan Jones; 4. Stefan Stam; 5. Steven Caulker; 6. Terrell Forbes; 7. George O'Callaghan; 8. Keiran Murtagh; 9. Sam Williams; 10. Gavin Tomlin; 11. Andy Welsh; 12. Darren Way; 13. Ryan Mason; 14. Dean Bowditch; 15. Richard Martin; 16. Scott Murray; 17. Aidan Downes; 22. Danny Schofield; 23. Danny Hutchins; 24. Terry Skiverton; 28. Nathan Smith; 32. Andre McCollin; 33. Ben Roberts.

All the squad numbers are carried permanently on the Player Profile section (under the Statistics menu) if you need to refer to them throughout the season.

Share on Facebook

Comment on this News Item on Facebook or Go back to Top of Page

Other News Items For 31/07/2009

31/07/2009 : Youths Lose At Westbury
31/07/2009 : Tonight's Line-Up Against Westbury
31/07/2009 : Squad Numbers Released
31/07/2009 : A Minute's Applause For Sir Bobby
31/07/2009 : Exeter City Tickets On Sale
31/07/2009 : Ticket Office Opening Hours

News Items For Today

19/04/2019 : Team News For Crewe Alexandra vs Yeovil Town
19/04/2019 : Officials For Crewe Alexandra vs Yeovil Town

News Archives

To go to the Ciderspace News Archives, click here.
To subscribe to this News Page's RSS Feed, copy this link into your News Reader. Alternatively Join us on Facebook or Follow us on Twitter.
To see all news for April 2019 click here.
To see all news for March 2019 click here.

© Ciderspace 1999-2004
Last Updated : 17th August 2015
design by siteshape