Ciderspace News Page : Glovers Hit The Spot
9 October 2007 : Glovers Hit The Spot
Yeovil Town moved into the Third Round of the Johnstone's Paint Trophy for the first time in their history after a 0-0 draw against Hereford United was ended via penalty kicks, with Yeovil winning 4-2 on the night.

The depleted Glovers went into the match with 10 first-teamers out injured, with Curtis Ujah the latest to be jinxed following a training ground injury. Thankfully Jerahl Hughes was fit enough to make the bench, whilst Matthew Rose took to the field despite having not trained so far this week because of flu.

The 90 minutes itself was nothing to get too excited about, with both sides missing chances to break the deadlock, but in the main far too much of the play was scrappy. Home striker Trevor Benjamin put wide from close range in the first half, whilst two chances in two minutes during the second period saw Yeovil's best chances go by, with Matthew Rose and Lloyd Owusu both being denied by home keeper Michael Ingham.

Penalties though, were on the whole inevitable and resulted in the Glovers taking the initiative, taking a 3-0 lead in the spot-kicks through Marcus Stewart, Anthony Barry and Lloyd Owusu before Hereford briefly fought back through Kevin Betsy having had his attempt saved. Midfielder Ritchie Jones who had only been on the field for 60 seconds and had yet to touch the ball took Yeovil's 5th penalty and scored to put the Glovers into the Third Round.

1-0 SCORE - Marcus Stewart - hit the ball low centre with keeper diving away
1-0 SAVE - Trevor Benjamin - saved by Larrieu going down low to his left
2-0 SCORE - Anthony Barry - hit high and up the middle with keeper diving under the ball
2-0 MISS - Dean Beckwith - sliced well wide of the target
3-0 SCORE - Lloyd Owusu - low into the bottom left-hand corner
3-1 SCORE - Theo Robinson - hit low into bottom right hand corner
3-1 SAVE - Kevin Betsy - hit low towards bottom right hand corner but not enough pace and saved.
3-2 SCORE - Luke Webb - bottom right hand corner and scored
4-2 SCORE - Ritchie Jones - middle right hand side of goal.

The night was marred by injuries to left-back Nathan Jones, who limped off with a knee ligament injury, whilst defender Matthew Rose also departed with an ankle injury. Both left the field just before the full time whistle and if both are not fit for Saturday, manager Russell Slade could have a big headache when attempting to select a player in the left-back slot for Saturday's match against Carlisle United.

Final Score: Hereford United 0 Yeovil Town 0. (Yeovil Town win 4-2 on penalties).

Hereford United: (4-4-2)
14. Michael Ingham
2. Trent McClenahan 28. Dean Beckwith 5. John McCombe 4. Richard Rose
21. Luke Webb 20. Toumani Diagouraga 10. Kris Taylor 11. Clint Easton
23. Simon Johnson 12. Trevor Benjamin

Substitutes: 1. Wayne Brown (GK) 8. Ben Smith (64 mins for Richard Rose) 15. Sam Gwynne (78 mins for Toumani Diagouraga) 19. Marcus Palmer 22. Theo Robinson (65 mins for Clint Easton)

Yeovil Town: (4-5-1)
31. Romain Larrieu
2. Mark Lynch 5. Scott Guyett 6. Terrell Forbes 3. Nathan Jones
25. Kevin Betsy 12. Matty Rose 10. Marcus Stewart 8. Anthony Barry 14. Paul Warne
9. Lloyd Owusu

Substitutes: 16. Ritchie Jones (90 mins for Matty Rose) 17. Simon Gillett (59 mins for Paul Warne) 19. Craig Alcock (90 mins for Nathan Jones) 21. Jerahl Hughes 30. Wilfried Domoraud

Hereford Booking: Kris Taylor (80 mins, foul)
Yeovil Booking: Mark Lynch (50 mins, foul)

Referee: Steven Cook.

Attendance: 1,859 (including 125 Yeovil fans).

Share on Facebook

Comment on this News Item on Facebook or Go back to Top of Page

Other News Items For 09/10/2007

09/10/2007 : Glovers Hit The Spot
09/10/2007 : County Cup Second Round

News Archives

To go to the Ciderspace News Archives, click here.
To subscribe to this News Page's RSS Feed, copy this link into your News Reader. Alternatively Join us on Facebook or Follow us on Twitter.
To see all news for August 2019 click here.
To see all news for July 2019 click here.

© Ciderspace 1999-2004
Last Updated : 17th August 2015
design by siteshape