Ciderspace News Page : Yeovil Town Released And Retained List Sees Nine Players Depart
15 May 2019 : Yeovil Town Released And Retained List Sees Nine Players Depart
Yeovil Town have announced their Released and Retained Lists for the summer of 2019. With the Glovers currently going into the next season managerless, the decisions have been made prior to any new appointment and will see nine players depart the club, whilst only one full time professional in Craig Alcock has been given new terms as an offer. Two Academy players have got contracts on the table, with Nestor Shako and Alex John given the chance of their first professional deals.

The nine players that have been let go have a small caveat in that the club has stated that they will not be offered contracts 'at this time', suggesting that any new manager would be able to perform a u-turn if that player consented to fresh talks. However, by default they are now on the Released list and free to hold talks with other clubs. For the likes of Rhys Browne, Sessi D'Almeida and Jake Gray they will be able to sign for other clubs on a free transfer.

There are a couple of things to note that appear to be changes to earlier thinking. Academy attacking player Nestor Shako had been listed on the LFE Exit Trials website, but it looks as though the club have decided now to offer him a deal. In addition, former Caretaker Manager Neale Marmon and first team manager Darren Way's decisions to sideline Craig Alcock and Carl Dickinson appear to have been rescinded - the duo had not been a regular part of the first team set-up since mid-February, however Dickinson for the moment remains under his current contract with the club, whilst Alcock has earned a reprieve by being offered fresh terms.

The full list of players, and which category they fall into, are as follows:

Under Contract And Remaining With The Club:

Matt Worthington (contracted until June 2021).
Courtney Duffus (contracted until June 2021).
Carl Dickinson (contracted until June 2020).
Gabriel Rogers (contracted until June 2021).
Daniel Ojo (contracted until June 2021).
Stuart Nelson (contracted until June 2020).
Gary Warren (contracted until June 2020).
Omar Sowunmi (contracted until June 2020).
Ryan Seager (contracted until June 2020).
Tom James (unknown contract status)

New Contracts Offered:

Craig Alcock
Alex John (Academy)
Nestor Shako (Academy)

Released by the Club at the end of their Contracts:

Rhys Browne
Jake Gray
Sessi D'Almeida
Adel Gafaiti
Bevis Mugabi
Alex Fisher
Francois Zoko
Yoann Arquin
Alefe Santos

Loan Players Returning To Their Parent Club:

Nathan Baxter (Chelsea).
Tristan Abrahams (Norwich City)
Alex Pattison (Middlesbrough, but released by his parent club)
Joshua Grant (Chelsea)
Alex Dobre (Bournemouth).

Share on Facebook Tweet This!

Comment on this News Item on Facebook or Go back to Top of Page

Other News Items For 15/05/2019

15/05/2019 : Supporter Alliance Meeting : April 2019 Minutes
15/05/2019 : Three More Coaching Staff Leave Yeovil Town
15/05/2019 : Yeovil Town Released And Retained List Sees Nine Players Depart
15/05/2019 : Zoko Announces Departure From Yeovil Town
15/05/2019 : Family Tribute To Alan Skirton

News Archives

To go to the Ciderspace News Archives, click here.
To subscribe to this News Page's RSS Feed, copy this link into your News Reader. Alternatively Join us on Facebook or Follow us on Twitter.
To see all news for December 2019 click here.
To see all news for November 2019 click here.

© Ciderspace 1999-2004
Last Updated : 17th August 2015
design by siteshape