Ciderspace News Page : Two Familiar Faces Complete 2019-20 National League Line-Up
12 May 2019 : Two Familiar Faces Complete 2019-20 National League Line-Up
Yeovil Town's National League opponents for the 2019-20 season are now known. The final two matches of the 2018-19 campaign saw the National League North and National League South Play-Off Finals take place on Sunday afternoon. On both occasions, it was familiar opponents that triumphed. In the Southern Play-Off Final, Woking gained promotion back to the fifth tier after a single season down at that level. In front of an impressive 4,865 spectators, it was an Armani Little free kick that saw off Welling United at Kingfield.

They will be joined by Chorley, who were taken the full 120 minutes, including a penalty shootout, after their match against Spennymoor Town ended up in a 1-1 draw. In front of 3,594 spectators, both goals were scored during extra time, with a header from Scott Leather being very quickly cancelled out. It went to spot kicks, with the home side triumphing by a 4-3 scoreline.

Woking were regular opponents of Yeovil Town's between 1991 and 2003. After the two clubs met in the FA Cup in 1991, Woking's promotion to that level saw the two clubs compete at League level betwen 1992 and 1994 and then between 1997 and 2003, before Yeovil's rise into the Football League. The two clubs shared numerous personnel, with Colin Lippiatt managing the Glovers, whilst the likes of Steve Thompson, Kevan Brown, David Piper, Colin Fielder, Matt Hayfield and Warren Patmore played for both.

There is less history between Yeovil and Lancashire side Chorley. The two sides met in a 1979-80 FA Trophy tie, and then played each other four times during the 1988-89 and 1989-90 season. The last match came in April 1990, meaning that for their fans Huish Park will be a new ground. Since their relegation at the end of that season, they've not played at fifth tier level since, although have spent the last five seasons occupying top eight positions in National League North, with them suffering three play-off failures until Sunday afternoon's success. They still play at Victory Park - the ground they have occupied since its opening in 1920.

Relegated To The National League: Notts County and Yeovil Town

Play-Off Losers: AFC Fylde, Solihull Moors, Wrexham, Harrogate Town, Eastleigh

Other National League Clubs: Ebbsfleet United, Gateshead, Sutton United, Barrow, Bromley, Barnet, Dover Athletic, Chesterfield, Halifax Town, Hartlepool United, Dagenham and Redbridge, Maidenhead United, Boreham Wood.

National League South: Torquay United (Champions), Woking (Play-Off Winners).

National League North: Stockport County (Champions), Chorley (Play-Off Winners).

Woking's Leslie Gosden Stand - their biggest seated capacity at Kingfield
Woking's Leslie Gosden Stand - their biggest seated capacity at Kingfield

Share on Facebook Tweet This!

Comment on this News Item on Facebook or Go back to Top of Page

Other News Items For 12/05/2019

12/05/2019 : Two Familiar Faces Complete 2019-20 National League Line-Up
12/05/2019 : Date Set For 2019 Adam Stansfield Memorial Trophy
12/05/2019 : Alan Skirton RIP : 1939-2019
12/05/2019 : Gary Johnson's Views On Yeovil Town's Relegation

News Archives

To go to the Ciderspace News Archives, click here.
To subscribe to this News Page's RSS Feed, copy this link into your News Reader. Alternatively Join us on Facebook or Follow us on Twitter.
To see all news for December 2019 click here.
To see all news for November 2019 click here.

© Ciderspace 1999-2004
Last Updated : 17th August 2015
design by siteshape