Ciderspace News Page : Yeovil 5 Plymouth 1 : Browne And Fisher Provide Pilgrims Rout
21 July 2018 : Yeovil 5 Plymouth 1 : Browne And Fisher Provide Pilgrims Rout
Yeovil Town swept to a highly convincing victory at Huish Park this afternoon, as they thrashed League One side Plymouth Argyle by a 5-1 scoreline in their final home pre-season friendly. A fairly strong Pilgrims side were put on the back foot right from the very start, as Norwich City loanee Diallang Jaiyesimi shot from distance, and that was followed up by a brace from Rhys Browne. Argyle had pulled one back from former Glover Joel Grant, but in the second half the scoreline was further extended as substitute Alex Fisher scored twice inside the box for an eye-catching victory.

The Glovers went into the match making one change to their starting line-up, with Omar Sowunmi sitting out his first match of the pre-season schedule. He made way for Shaun Donnellan, who had missed the midweek match against Bristol Rovers. Gary Warren returned to the bench. In the opposition line-up, Joel Grant returned to Huish Park against his old club.

Yeovil Town got themselves off to a flyer in the first eleven minutes of the match, as they scored two long range goals. The first came from Norwich City loanee Diallang Jaiyesimi, who received the ball outside the box, then cut inside his marker before delivering an edge-of-area drive that flew into the net for a 1-0 lead. The strong start got better when Rhys Browne decided to have a go at Argyle keeper Kyle Letheren from 20 yards out and two shots into the match, Yeovil were 2-0 up, as the visitors failed to close their men down.

That was enough to wake the Pilgrims up, as Jamie Ness forced Stuart Nelson into a strong save, with a header from the same man also on target from a corner, only to find Nelson's leg blocking the ball. There was then a let-off as Conor Grant's shot came off the post, following Nelson's questionable clearance that fell into his path. That mini-sloppy spell also saw Argyle pull a goal back, as Joel Grant intercepted the ball inside Yeovil's area, as they tried to play the ball out, and the former Yeovil man fired home.

Although Argyle went in search of an equaliser, and at that point looked the more likely to get the next one, Yeovil were having a lot of fun from long range. If the first two goals were good, then the third got better, as Rhys Browne received the ball at height, controlled it on his chest, and then as the ball dropped he hit a first time volley from outside the box, which flew into the ball of the net for a 3-1 lead.

Half time saw Argyle make six changes as they introduced all bar two of their substitutes. Yeovil chose a more limited three changes, and two of those combined to produce their fourth goal of the afternoon. An unnamed trialist winger was on Jordan Green's flank in the second period, and his cross into the box was well placed for Alex Fisher to fire home from inside the box for a 4-1 lead.

As Yeovil's substitutions continued en masse, the Glovers still managed to keep enough shape to get a fifth goal of the afternoon. Argyle's defence were caught flat-footed as Alex Fisher got in behind their back line, and he rounded substitute keeper Harry Burgoyne to roll the ball home for a 5-1 lead.

That was the end of the scoring as two of Yeovil Town's Academy players got onto the pitch in the closing stages. Plymouth's Graham Carey tried to pull back a consolation or two, with a free kick that Stuart Nelson turned over the bar, whilst another attempt on goal was saved. But it was very firmly Yeovil's day, with the one and only downside being that it doesn't give them any league points, or goal difference! A good positive way to end the home section of the pre-season friendlies though.

Final Score: Yeovil Town 5 Plymouth Argyle 1.

Scorers: Diallang Jaiyesimi (1-0, 3 mins), Rhys Browne (2-0, 11 mins), Joel Grant (2-1, 19 mins), Rhys Browne (3-1, 30 mins), Alex Fisher (4-1, 52 mins), Alex Fisher (5-1, 60 mins)

Yeovil Town:
1. Stuart Nelson
2. Tom James, 6. Bevis Mugabi, 5. Shaun Donnellan, 3. Carl Dickinson
7. Jordan Green, 4. Sessi D'Almeida, 8. Alefe Santos, 10. Rhys Browne
11. Diallang Jaiyesimi, 13. Francois Zoko

Omar Sowunmi (62 mins for Shaun Donnellan), Daniel Alfei (68 mins for Tom James), Alex Fisher (46 mins for Diallang Jaiyesimi), Gary Warren (46 mins for Bevis Mugabi), Tyrique Spencer-Clarke (86 mins for Alefe Santos), Gabriel Rogers (74 mins for Rhys Browne), 21. Trialist A (46 mins for Jordan Green), Trialist B (55 mins for Carl Dickinson), Trialist C (55 mins for Francois Zoko), 4. Trialist D (57 mins for Sessi D'Almeida).

Plymouth Argyle:
21. Kyle Letheren 2. Joe Riley 3. Gary Sawyer 5. Ryan Edwards 6. Jamie Ness 8. David Fox 11. Ruben Lameiras 10. Graham Carey 15. Conor Grant 16. Joel Grant 25. Scott Wootton

1. Harry Burgoyne (46 mins for Kyle Letheren) 4. Yann Songo'o (46 mins) 14. Niall Canavan (46 mins) 17. Lionel Ainsworth (46 mins) 19. Calum Dyson (46 mins) 22. Tafari Moore 23. Ashley Smith-Brown (46 mins) 24. Peter Grant.

Attendance: 1,551 (with 395 Plymouth Argyle fans).

Share on Facebook Tweet This!

Comment on this News Item on Facebook or Go back to Top of Page

Other News Items For 21/07/2018

21/07/2018 : Yeovil 5 Plymouth 1 : Browne And Fisher Provide Pilgrims Rout
21/07/2018 : Team News For Yeovil Town vs Plymouth Argyle
21/07/2018 : Clarification On Corby Town and Poole Town Friendlies

News Items For Today

24/08/2019 : Yeovil 1 Maidenhead 2 : Match Statistics
24/08/2019 : Omotayo At Huish Park Today Ahead Of Reported Signing
24/08/2019 : Team News For Yeovil Town v Maidenhead United
24/08/2019 : Bury Granted A Four Day Extension To Save League Status
24/08/2019 : Glovers Trust Plans For The Maidenhead United Game

News Archives

To go to the Ciderspace News Archives, click here.
To subscribe to this News Page's RSS Feed, copy this link into your News Reader. Alternatively Join us on Facebook or Follow us on Twitter.
To see all news for August 2019 click here.
To see all news for July 2019 click here.

© Ciderspace 1999-2004
Last Updated : 17th August 2015
design by siteshape