Ciderspace News Page : 2018-19 League Cup First Round Draw Schedule And Ball Numbers
11 June 2018 : 2018-19 League Cup First Round Draw Schedule And Ball Numbers
The schedule and ball numbers for the First Round draw of the 2018-19 League Cup have been published by the Football League. The draw will represent the first known competitive fixture for the new season, and as per last year, the League will be getting on a long distance flight. They will be sending Steve McManaman, Louis Saha and Dennis Wise out to Ho Chi Minh City in Vietnam to make the draw on Friday 15th June, with matters commencing at 10.45a.m.

There won't be any video of the draw - all ties will be tweeted via the cup competition's Twitter feed, so you'll just have to imagine that they are actually in Vietnam and not in an office somewhere in the UK. The overseas location is a tie-in with sponsors Carabao, who are based in Thailand. There will be 70 clubs in the draw, with a split between North and South regions. However, on this occasion there will be no seeding, meaning that Yeovil Town - who are Ball No. 34 - can face any of the teams in the Southern Section on a home or away basis.

There are two EFL teams excluded, with Stoke City and Swansea City given a bye, along with all Premier League sides. The draw is as follows:

Northern Section:
1 Accrington Stanley 2 Barnsley 3 Blackburn Rovers 4 Blackpool 5 Bolton Wanderers 6 Bradford City 7 Burton Albion 8 Bury 9 Carlisle United 10 Crewe Alexandra 11 Derby County 12 Doncaster Rovers 13 Fleetwood Town 14 Grimsby Town 15 Hull City 16 Leeds United 17 Lincoln City 18 Macclesfield Town 19 Mansfield Town 20 Middlesbrough 21 Morecambe 22 Nottingham Forest 23 Notts County 24 Oldham Athletic 25 Port Vale 26 Preston North End 27 Rochdale 28 Rotherham United 29 Scunthorpe United 30 Sheffield United 31 Sheffield Wednesday 32 Shrewsbury Town 33 Sunderland 34 Tranmere Rovers 35 Walsall 36 Wigan Athletic

Southern Section:
1 AFC Wimbledon 2 Aston Villa 3 Birmingham City 4 Brentford 5 Bristol City 6 Bristol Rovers 7 Cambridge United 8 Charlton Athletic 9 Cheltenham Town 10 Colchester United 11 Coventry City 12 Crawley Town 13 Exeter City 14 Forest Green Rovers 15 Gillingham 16 Ipswich Town 17 Luton Town 18 Millwall 19 Milton Keynes Dons 20 Newport County 21 Northampton Town 22 Norwich City 23 Oxford United 24 Peterborough United 25 Plymouth Argyle 26 Portsmouth 27 Queens Park Rangers 28 Reading 29 Southend United 30 Stevenage 31 Swindon Town 32 West Bromwich Albion 33 Wycombe Wanderers 34 Yeovil Town.

All matches are scheduled to be played during the week commencing August 13th, with Tuesday 14th August the most likely date for the majority of sides. The competition final will be played on Sunday 24th February 2019. There are a number of changes to this season's competition, as summarised via the link below.

Link: League Cup 2018-19 Competition Rule Changes.

Share on Facebook Tweet This!

Comment on this News Item on Facebook or Go back to Top of Page

Other News Items For 11/06/2018

11/06/2018 : 2018-19 League Cup First Round Draw Schedule And Ball Numbers

News Items For Today

26/03/2019 : Ticketing For Northampton Town vs Yeovil Town
26/03/2019 : Johnson Stops A Rumour Before It Starts

News Archives

To go to the Ciderspace News Archives, click here.
To subscribe to this News Page's RSS Feed, copy this link into your News Reader. Alternatively Join us on Facebook or Follow us on Twitter.
To see all news for March 2019 click here.
To see all news for February 2019 click here.

© Ciderspace 1999-2004
Last Updated : 17th August 2015
design by siteshape