Ciderspace News Page : Football Association Confirm Sowunmi Suspension
1 May 2018 : Football Association Confirm Sowunmi Suspension
The Football Association have confirmed the suspension of Yeovil Town defender Omar Sowunmi. The 22 year old was given his second dismissal of the 2017-18 season when referee Charles Breakspear sent him off in the 97th minute of the 2-3 defeat against Mansfield Town on Saturday, thus meaning that he will play no part in the final day fixture against Lincoln City at Sincil Bank.

With Omar having already been sent off in the New Year's Day game against Crawley Town, he will also miss the opening day match of the 2018-19 season. The Football Association confirm the two match ban, but leave it as open-ended, due to the unavailability of fixtures for next season. With Omar about to go out of contract, his suspension would carry over to a new club, should he choose to move on.

Sowunmi's red card gives the club its tenth red card of the 2017-18 season. In addition to Sowunmi's pair, Francois Zoko (twice), Otis Khan, Connor Smith, Ryan Dickson, Olufela Olomola, Sid Nelson and Bevis Mugabi have all been sent off.

The ten red cards is the worst record in the top five divisions, with National League side AFC Fylde having had nine dismissals, whilst Leeds United, Northampton Town, Grimsby Town and Guiseley have all been given eight red cards.

Share on Facebook Tweet This!

Comment on this News Item on Facebook or Go back to Top of Page

Other News Items For 01/05/2018

01/05/2018 : Yeovil Town Linked With Out Of Contract Gulls Midfielder
01/05/2018 : Glovers Keep 2017-18 Family Excellence Status
01/05/2018 : Football Association Confirm Sowunmi Suspension

News Archives

To go to the Ciderspace News Archives, click here.
To subscribe to this News Page's RSS Feed, copy this link into your News Reader. Alternatively Join us on Facebook or Follow us on Twitter.
To see all news for August 2019 click here.
To see all news for July 2019 click here.

© Ciderspace 1999-2004
Last Updated : 17th August 2015
design by siteshape