Ciderspace News Page : Cup-Tied Players Force Trophy Changes For Both Yeovil Town And Fleetwood
5 February 2018 : Cup-Tied Players Force Trophy Changes For Both Yeovil Town And Fleetwood
Tomorrow evening, Yeovil Town play host to Fleetwood Town in an EFL Trophy Quarter-Final tie. The match will mean the Glovers will have to make at least one change to their starting line-up, whilst three of their loanees will have to sit out the fixture, albeit with one of that trio already known to be injured. Southampton striker Marcus Barnes has an ankle injury, but wouldn't have been selected given that he played in two of his parent club's EFL Trophy group games as an Under-21 player. His St Mary's teammate Ryan Seager will also not play as he featured for Milton Keynes Dons earlier in the competition, whilst Lewis Wing played in one of Middlesbrough Under-21's matches and so will sit in the stand.

In addition to Barnes, other injured players include right-back Daniel Alfei (knee injury, out for season) and James Bailey (knee ligaments). Defender Bevis Mugabi has missed the last three matches with a hamstring injury, although it's never been divulged how serious that problem is. In addition midfielder Oscar Gobern had briefly returned from his own hamstring injury in terms of the teamsheet but has disappeared again for the last two League matches, suggesting that he is not quite ready yet, having not featured for two months.

Assuming Mugabi and Gobern are not available, that should still give the Glovers a squad of eighteen players to select from. The odd nature of the Checkatrade Trophy disciplinary rules mean that Otis Khan will be available for selection, and will almost certainly be used, given that he will have to sit out the next two matches as part of his five game suspension.

Khan's availability means the following players are believed to be available for the game:

1. Artur Krysiak 23. Tom James 17. Omar Sowunmi 3. Nathan Smith 11. Ryan Dickson 10. Jake Gray 30. Alefe Santos 15. Jordan Green 14. Sam Surridge 13. Francois Zoko 12. Jonny Maddison 4. Jared Bird 9. Rhys Browne 18. Alex Fisher 22. Corey Whelan 27. Shaun Donnellan 7. Otis Khan 8. Connor Smith

Fleetwood Town will be in more or less the same boat. Former Glovers striker Paddy Madden is cup-tied from his time at Scunthorpe United, whilst midfield trio Gethin Jones, Toumani Diagouraga and Elliot Osborne have all played for other clubs earlier in the competition. They are also expected to be without George Glendon who left the field in their match on Saturday with a hamstring injury.

Share on Facebook Tweet This!

Comment on this News Item on Facebook or Go back to Top of Page

Other News Items For 05/02/2018

05/02/2018 : Cup-Tied Players Force Trophy Changes For Both Yeovil Town And Fleetwood
05/02/2018 : Adult Prices Reduced For The Fleetwood Town Trophy Tie
05/02/2018 : Exeter City Tickets On General Sale
05/02/2018 : Glovers Defender Given Second Team Of The Week Nomination
05/02/2018 : Bantams Boss Loses Job After FA Cup Exit Sparks Downfall
05/02/2018 : Darren Way Talks About Cambridge United Team Selection

News Items For Today

23/09/2019 : Aldershot Extend Advance Ticket Purchase Option
23/09/2019 : Video : Solihull Moors vs Yeovil Town Match Highlights

News Archives

To go to the Ciderspace News Archives, click here.
To subscribe to this News Page's RSS Feed, copy this link into your News Reader. Alternatively Join us on Facebook or Follow us on Twitter.
To see all news for September 2019 click here.
To see all news for August 2019 click here.

© Ciderspace 1999-2004
Last Updated : 17th August 2015
design by siteshape