Ciderspace News Page : Penalty Shoot-Out Needed To Settle Cup Tie
24 March 2015 : Penalty Shoot-Out Needed To Settle Cup Tie
Yeovil Town needed extra time and a penalty shoot-out tonight to get past Southern League Division One South and West Larkhall Athletic tonight. In a match played at their Plain Ham Ground near Bath, the Glovers had taken the lead midway through the first half when AJ Leitch-Smith beat home keeper Alex Shaftoe to the ball to score from inside the box. However, they were pegged back when Joe Tumelty scored from close range midway through the second period to level the tie, and despite having the greater number of chances they couldn't convert a winner.

That took the game through extra time, and after 120 minutes the two sides still couldn't be divided. Thankfully Yeovil Town found their shooting boots during the penalty shoot-out, with AJ Leitch-Smith, Sam Hoskins, Kieffer Moore and Nathan Ralph converting a perfect set of penalties, whilst Larkhall failed to convert two of theirs, with Jamie Lyons the unlucky man whose spot kick was missed to send Yeovil through to the semi-final stages. There they will meet Bridgwater Town at Fairfax Park, after they saw their way past Odd Down at the Quarter-Final stages - a date for this tie has yet to be arranged.

Final Score: Larkhall Athletic 1 Yeovil Town 1. (After Extra Time. Yeovil win 4-2 on penalties).

Scorers: AJ Leitch-Smith (0-1, 24 mins), Joe Tumelty (1-1, 67 mins).

Penalty Shoot-Out: AJ Leitch-Smith (scored, 0-1), Tyler Sibbick (scored, 1-1), Sam Hoskins (scored, 1-2), Matt Thorne (missed, 1-2), Kieffer Moore (scored, 1-3), Rob Hobbs (scored, 2-3), Nathan Ralph (scored, 2-4), Jamie Lyons (missed, 2-4).

Yeovil Town:
1. Artur Krysiak
3. Seth Nana Twumasi, 4. Kieffer Moore, 5. Ben Nugent, 2. Liam Davis
6. Fergus Bell, 8. Craig Eastmond, 10. Alex Smith, 7. Nathan Ralph
9. Sam Hoskins, 11. AJ Leitch-Smith

12. Gareth Stewart 13. Nathan Smith 14. James Hayter 15. Gozie Ugwu

Larkhall Athletic
1. Alex Shaftoe 2. Giorgio Wrona 3. Jamie Lyons 4. Rob Hobbs 5. Ollie Price (Capt) 6. Dan Jones 7. Joe Tumelty 8. Matt Thorne 9. Chris Pile 10. Brad Norris 11. Ben Horan.

12. Tyler Sibbick 14. Jake Gardner 15. Ross Lye 16. Ryan Elliott.

Referee: Ron Ganfield. Assistants: Adam Fricker and Kevin Williams.

Attendance: 160.

Share on Facebook Tweet This!

Comment on this News Item on Facebook or Go back to Top of Page

Other News Items For 24/03/2015

24/03/2015 : Penalty Shoot-Out Needed To Settle Cup Tie
24/03/2015 : Team News For Larkhall Athletic vs Yeovil Town
24/03/2015 : Magpies Take Hart In Battle Against Drop
24/03/2015 : Mason Given England Call-Up

News Archives

To go to the Ciderspace News Archives, click here.
To subscribe to this News Page's RSS Feed, copy this link into your News Reader. Alternatively Join us on Facebook or Follow us on Twitter.
To see all news for September 2019 click here.
To see all news for August 2019 click here.

© Ciderspace 1999-2004
Last Updated : 17th August 2015
design by siteshape