Ciderspace News Page : League Cup First Round Seedings And Regionalisation
12 June 2013 : League Cup First Round Seedings And Regionalisation
Seedings and geographical splits for the League Cup First Round have been published by the Football League. The draw for the competition is made public next Monday at 9.30a.m. and will see Yeovil Town seeded based on their 2012-13 League One position. The draw is also regionalised into a Northern Section and a Southern Section. This means that the Glovers will face one of the following teams:

South Section : Unseeded
18. AFC Wimbledon 19. Bristol Rovers 20. Cheltenham Town 21. Colchester United 22. Coventry City 23. Dagenham and Redbridge 24. Exeter City 25. Gillingham 26. Newport County 27. Northampton Town 28. Oxford United 29. Plymouth Argyle 30. Portsmouth 31. Southend United 32. Stevenage 33. Torquay United 34. Wycombe Wanderers

The list of Southern seeded teams, made up of Championship clubs and the upper half of League One are as follows:

South Section : Seeded
1. AFC Bournemouth 2. Birmingham City 3. Brentford 4. Brighton and Hove Albion 5. Bristol City 6. Charlton Athletic 7. Crawley Town 8. Ipswich Town 9. Leicester City 10. Leyton Orient 11. Millwall 12. Milton Keynes Dons 13. Peterborough United 14. Queens Park Rangers 15. Swindon Town 16. Watford 17. Yeovil Town

Those in the Northern Section are as follows:

North Section : Seeded
1. Barnsley 2. Blackburn Rovers 3. Blackpool 4. Bolton Wanderers 5. Burnley 6. Crewe Alexandra 7. Derby County 8. Doncaster Rovers 9. Huddersfield Town 10. Leeds United 11. Middlesbrough 12. Nottingham Forest 13. Notts County 14. Sheffield United 15. Sheffield Wednesday 16. Tranmere Rovers 17. Walsall 18. Wolverhampton Wanderers

North Section : Unseeded
19. Accrington Stanley 20. Bradford City 21. Burton Albion 22. Bury 23. Carlisle United 24. Chesterfield 25. Fleetwood Town 26. Hartlepool United 27. Mansfield Town 28. Morecambe 29. Oldham Athletic 30. Port Vale 31. Preston North End 32. Rochdale 33. Rotherham United 34. Scunthorpe United 35. Shrewsbury Town 36. York City

Former Premier League side Reading have been given a bye until the Second Round, whilst Wigan Athletic have a bye until the Third Round.

The First Round matches will be played during the week commencing Monday 5th August.

Share on Facebook Tweet This!

Comment on this News Item on Facebook or Go back to Top of Page

Other News Items For 12/06/2013

12/06/2013 : Johnson Glad To Build Around The Spine Of The Team
12/06/2013 : Striker Haber Given Glovers Link
12/06/2013 : League Cup First Round Seedings And Regionalisation

News Archives

To go to the Ciderspace News Archives, click here.
To subscribe to this News Page's RSS Feed, copy this link into your News Reader. Alternatively Join us on Facebook or Follow us on Twitter.
To see all news for June 2018 click here.
To see all news for May 2018 click here.

© Ciderspace 1999-2004
Last Updated : 17th August 2015
design by siteshape